TAPPICon 2021

April 25 - 28, 2021 | Cobb Galleria Centre | Atlanta, Georgia, USA

Sign up for updates

Congratulations to TAPPI's 
2020 Process and Product Quality Division Award Winners



Process and Product Quality Division

Division Leadership and Service Award

Chris Czyryca

Chris Czyryca

Collaborative Testing Services


During his 26 years at CTS, Czyryca has held overall responsibility for operations in seven of CTS’ 11 programs; he has served in his current role as president for 10 years. Czyryca joined TAPPI in 1994. He is chair of the Quality and Standards Management Committee and has led numerous committees in the P&PQ and Corrugated Divisions. He holds a BS in Physics with an Applied Science minor from Marquette University in Milwaukee and served as an officer in the US Army on both active and reserve duty.

Division Technical Award and Richard S. Hunter Prize

Todd Popson

Todd Popson



Currently president and CEO of Technidyne Corporation (New Albany, IN) and owner of Technidyne Inc. (Dorval, PQ), Popson’s pulp and paper industry career has spanned almost three decades. He is involved in a variety of committees within TAPPI, ISO, PAPTAC and CIE. Popson is also chair of the US Technical Advisory Group (TAG) to ISO Technical Committee 6 and head of delegation for the US to ISO TC6. He was named a TAPPI Fellow in 2015.

Outgoing Division Chair

Steve Berg

Steve Berg

Thwing-Albert Instrument Co.
 2018-2020 Chair


Berg is Vice President of Sales & Marketing for Thwing-Albert Instrument Co. He has worked in the Physical Testing industry for over 45 years. He joined Thwing-Albert as a machinist in 1974. In 1985 Berg transferred into the sales department as an inside salesman and then moved on to be a regional account manager.  In 2009 he was promoted to Vice President of Sales & Marketing. 

In 2009 Berg joined TAPPI and has been active in the P&PQ division committees.  He has been the Chairman of the P&PQ division from 2015 to 2020 and has also serviced as the Chair of the Tissue Subcommittee.